Bluff ward committee to take office

THE Bluff’s ward committee will be ready to serve the community this month.

Ward committee members were finally cleared for service following a thorough vetting period.

The committee members were elected in November and will begin active service this month.

eThekwini Municipality inducted the committee members last week on 22 and 23 April.

“The induction of ward committees is part of formalising their operation in order to fast-track service delivery,” said council speaker, William Mapena.

The ward 66 committee will hold its maiden meeting on Tuesday, 16 May, with Councillor JP Prinsloo at the helm.

“During the course of the inaugural meeting, the elected members will choose the chairman for each of the council-approved portfolios,” said Prinsloo.

“The ward committee will establish sub-committees to assist in the delivery of its key functions. These sub-committees will be responsible for involving organisations and interested residents. Each ward committee member shall chair all sub-committee meetings linked to the portfolio he or she represents.

I urge all residents of the Bluff to come forward and join forces with us to ensure the committee functions as optimally as possible.”

Meetings will be held every month at which a schedule of public meetings and projects will be determined.


Click on the words highlighted in red to read more on this and related topics.
To receive news links via WhatsApp, send an invite to 061-876-3179
The Southlands Sun is also on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest – why not join us there?

Do you have more information pertaining to this story?
Feel free to let us know by commenting on our Facebook page or you can contact our newsroom on 031-903-2341 and speak to a journalist.

(Comments posted on this issue may be used for publication in the Sun)

Erin Hanekom

Latest News


Next Story x
Wanderers duo claim joint third as Port Natal pairs ends